#Craft · #Journals · #RandomThoughts

Week 26: VBS at Large

Happy Weekend!!

This week started with a ridiculously triple digit weather. Our LA Monday went as high as 109 degrees F.  That pushed me out of work earlier than usual. Even inside the office with a full blast A/C, we felt the heat.  That is summer in LA.

Even with the heat wave, the week went pretty exciting for us, as we enrichen our faith with VBS week long. I must say I was feeling lucky this year. I was assigned at the Craft Center, inspite of my desire to lead a group of 4th graders for station rotations.  I was stationed in an A/C equipped room, where I stayed fresh looking for 2 hours. In short, my day went cooler than expected. Of course, we were aware with the pool of people coming in and out of the room, it got hot as well. But not as bad as walking under the heat of the sun with kids in tow. I must confess, I was not very good at that at all. Heat under pressure was not my cup of tea. My patience would instantly melt.

On my previous post here, I planned to journalize our daily activities, whether as a group leader or a craft facilitator. To learn more, visit Liguori VBS website. I attached the verses here so you can better connect with our daily craft activities.

VBS Theme was The Lord Is My Shepherd
Psalm 23, A Psalm of David

1 The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack. 2 In green pastures he makes me lie down; to still waters he leads me. 3 He restores my soul. He guides me along right paths for the sake of his name. 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff comfort me. 5 You set a table before me in front of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 6 Indeed, goodness and mercy will pursue me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of the Lord for endless days.

Day 1: SHEEP

Jesus Is the Good Shepherd (John 10:1–18)

Take-Home Point:
Jesus cares, now and forever!

Memory Verse:
“The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack.” Psalm 23:1

Monday was the first day we met as a group. We came in half an hour earlier to discuss the craft of the day. Animal of the day was the sheep. The older group of children (Grades 4-6) were assigned to craft a sheep made out of a ball of yarn. We called it the “pompom sheep”. We thought the older kids could deliver it well, but expect the unexpected. They had a difficult time cutting the spool of yarn after wrapping it around the inch wide board. So we did the cutting for all of them, which pushed us way out of time. Thirty minutes of craft time wasn’t just enough.

image
Jesus is my Shepherd, there is nothing I shall want.

On the other hand, the finger-painting craft for the little kids (preK-3rd) was a huge hit. Everyone loved it. Even I enjoyed crafting with the group of younger kids who came to my center. The littlest ones were the dearest to facilitate crafts with. They are motivated & driven. You are rewarded with every smile on their faces after completion.

Day 2: COW

Jesus Feeds 5,000 People (Mark 6:30–44; John 6:1–14)

Take-Home Point:
Jesus provides, now and forever!

Memory Verse:
“In green pastures he makes me lie down.” Psalm 23:2

On the 2nd day, we crafted a banner for the 4th-6th graders. It was such an easy task that most completed the craft in 10 minutes. Due to Monday’s craft difficulty level, we miscalculated the craft difficulty level on this day and its duration. We just supplemented the activity with a word search, which preoccupied their time. I must say the older kids were disappointed. They were expecting a similar kind of craft as the previous day. They thought they would come home with a complete set of pompom animals by the end of VBS.

image
God’s Word MOOOOOOves ME.

If the older kids were disappointed, the little ones (PreK-3) were amused even more. They crafted a cow out of a paper plate finishing it with cow’s spotted face and googly set of eyes.

Day 3: PIG

Jesus Tells about a Sower (Matthew 13:1–23)

Take-Home Point:
Jesus leads, now and forever!

Memory Verse:
“He guides me along right paths.” Psalm 23:3

Day 3 was such a lovely day at the Craft Center. First off, all grade levels were happy about their crafts for the day. The older children (3-6) enjoyed the cross scratchers. Even the group leaders did the craft with us. They were thrilled decorating their own crosses. Along with the cross, they also made their own barn landscape. Some cut-out the top portion of the construction paper and glued it at the back of the bottom portion of the paper, which gave them the opportunity to cut-open the barn doors (see image below), while others simply colored and decorated them with barn animal stickers.

VBSDAY3.jpeg
Jesus Loves US even if it gets messy.

As expected, the little ones (Pre-k-2) enjoyed our muddy piggies. I pre-cut the circles for the Pre-Ks to save time, and to give them a better base of their creation. For older kids who mastered cutting, we challenged them to cut the circle templates on their own. For little kids who messed up on cutting, I replaced them with my pre-cut templates to avoid meltdowns. It was a lot of cutting and gluing, so I rewarded them by painting in the mud on their piggies.

Day 4: CHICKEN

Jesus Tells about a Lost Son (Luke 15:11–32)

Take-Home Point:
Jesus forgives, now and forever!

Memory Verse:
“I will fear no evil, for you are with me.” Psalm 23:4

The crafts got better each day. On this day, the older kids got to craft with beads. We made bracelets with a cross charm on each. It was perfect for everyone since they needed not much of an instruction. It was a self-explanatory craft. Everyone knew how to lace a bead of bracelet. So it was really relaxing at the center on this day.

2016-06-23-22.26.53.jpg.jpeg
Don’t chicken out on your faith to God

Even the smaller children got the chance to craft their necklaces after their chicken craft (shown above).

Day 5: HORSE 

Take-Home Point:
Jesus is our Savior, now and forever!

Memory Verse:
“I will dwell in the house of the Lord for endless days.” Psalm 23:6

Day 5 was the special day. And the final day. Yes, you heard that right. So we made it special for everyone. It was a day for families to work together. So volunteers with registered kids didn’t report to their assigned centers. We rotated to all the centers with our kids and participated in all the activities. And it was such fun. Parents experienced what their children were doing for the first 4 days. At the end, we gathered together at the courtyard for dinner & desserts.

At the craft center we did a picture frame as our souvenir for participating. We also had egg hunting for the kids, and a dancing game for everyone. I wasn’t able to capture pictures this time as our hands were full.

VBS closed with a mass. The songs they learned throughout the week were sung in the mass. The atmosphere at the mass was so alive with angelic voices serenading. Love every moment of it.  A video was shown to recap the week long program. We had such an awesome time spending it with the Lord. Such a splendid moment to bond with other families in the church.

Hope you enjoyed this post. See you for another fun and biblical adventure in 2017.

xoxo!!

*** Disclaimer: All VBS daily verses and bibilical images are courtesy of 
Liguori VBS. Craft activity images were all captured by yours truly.  
Please contact me before using any images created by me.***

 

Leave a Reply

